Named after the Venetian Governor of Heraklion Gianmatteo Bembo, who built it sometime between 1552 and 1554 1552-1554 this fountain was the first that brought spring water into the city. It bears Venetian coats of arms as well as several gothic and renaissance adornments. A "decapitated" statue of the Roman period is placed in its center, originating from the town of Ierapetra. The fountain stands next to the ottoman sebil (public fountain), which today houses a picturesque cafe, in Kornarou square.
The Turkish Sebil (public fountain) in Kornarou Square
The word "Sebil" means "road" in Arabic and refers to the drinking water facilities free to the general public, which common in the Turkish-occupied Heraklion. Usually, a wealthy philanthropist was behind their construction and preservation. The "Sebil" of Kornarou square is the only one left in the city, built by Haji Ibrahim Agha. It stands right next to the Venetian Bembo fountain, at the end of the market (1866 street). Today it houses a traditional café, popular to the elderly!